why does nobody ever talk about how the belief of “romance is the top priority” is so toxic and dangerous? how it causes more harm than good?
this doesn’t even just affect aromantic people. this belief harms anyone and everyone.
there are people that literally believe their life has no point because they don’t have a significant other. there’s mentally ill/neurodivergent people that think they’re worthless and meaningless and disgusting because they can’t find someone who wants to date them, even if they’re showered with love from their friends and/or family. but the love only counts if it’s romantic, right?
society is constantly perpetuating the idea that you were born to find a romantic partner and that romance is the only way to be truly happy, and it’s so messed up. this completely disregards other great moments in life, like personal achievements that make you feel like you’re on top of the world and the things nobody glorifies simply because it’s not romance.
your pet(s) pulling a smile out of you every time you see them. having a deep, emotional talk with a friend and being reminded that someone cares about you. enjoying alone time with yourself. reaching a milestone or getting through a hard time. these things are so wonderful and amazing, but it’s not romance, so it doesn’t matter, right? it’s boring and insignificant.
and it really shows when questions like “do you have a boyfriend/girlfriend yet?” and “have you settled down with someone yet?” are asked. it shows how society thinks romance is the most important thing to experience in life. the “yet” implies that romance is a requirement, that you’ll have to find it eventually. but what if you don’t want to? if you simply aren’t interested in that stuff right now or if you won’t ever be interested?
romance is not everything. remember that. you were not born to “find someone” or to “have a soulmate”. you don’t need romance in your life for it to be a good one. you are allowed to not include it in your priorities. it doesn’t matter if nobody has a crush on you or wants to date you. it literally doesn’t matter. that has absolutely no importance to your worth as a human being. you were not brought into this world to impress and find a potential mate. you’re here to live and to do what makes you happy.
romance can be nice, but it is not everything. please, please remember that.
so in horror movies where flat tires stop people from running away…you can still drive with flat tires. it damages the tires and the wheels, and it’s not safe at high speeds, but you can still drive away from a raving serial killer. pro tip next time a knife wielding lunatic comes at you get in the car, you’ll be fine
well this would have been useful last night
See this is where people make the mistake. If the knife maniac is running straight at your car, SLAM it into reverse. You probably won’t kill them but you might cause some damage. Then drive. They’ll be stopped and you can get away, and maybe they’ll even be at the same spot to call the cops (and maybe the ambulance) on
what a top notch addition to an already excellent post
are we going to ignore the guy who apparently had an encounter with a serial killer last night
So weird thing happened today, so a teacher said “I’m losing my will to live.” She said that Because a student was taking to long to answer. Literally almost the whole class said something like “same, me too, or mood.” I think that represents our generation pretty well
THEN GET UP OFF YOUR ASSES AND CHANGE THE FUCKING WORLD INSTEAD OF JUST WHINING ABOUT IT
we’re trying but we’re also kinda being ignored so
Young girls really are pressured now more than ever to be seen as beautiful and sexy and perfect like IG models and whatever the fuck…..like that’s why you see “me at 14 vs 14 year old girls today” posts……….we didn’t have this constant stream of content like they do…..content telling us to be perfect and to have perfect clothes and sharp eyeliner wings that look photoshopped and shit like that….I mean it’s always been there but not like this…and while I think girls should be able to dress however they want and do whatever they want…..you have to take into consideration the fact that this all stems from a toxic culture where women have to be perfect and beautiful…now at younger and younger ages….and it’s really gross…and the media continues to sexualize and like…make young girls seem older and more appealing than they actually are idk the whole thing makes me so uncomfortable and it’s only going to get worse
And the wildest thing is, people will still try and justify it with the “there’s always been girls that dress older than they are!” argument. Which is true. But it was never the norm. Pre social media, most young girls were allowed be young girls. Here’s Miley Cyrus, Selena Gomez and Lindsay Lohan at 14/15 in 2001-2007. They were arguably the biggest young stars of the time but this is how they presented
They aren’t being styled to look leagues older than they are. They’re allowed to just be their own age and look their own age. Now, here’s Millie Bobbie Brown at 13 in 2018, Veronika Bonell at 15/16 in 2017, Skai Jackson at 13 in 2015, and Caitlin Carmichael at 13 in 2017.
There is a deep problem in our society that this is what people are styling children to look like. They don’t look like children, they look like young adults. They could wear these exact same looks in 10 years and they wouldn’t be questioned because they’re dressed and made up to present as adults. This is what is presented as normal for young girls, this is the image they’re told is the “right” one, the one they should aspire to.
There’s nothing wrong with girls – or boys – wanting to be pretty. But there is a problem with young girls being constantly told that pretty for them means looking over 21 at 13.
There’s nothing wrong with girls – or boys – wanting to be pretty. But there is a problem with young girls being constantly told that pretty for them means looking over 21 at 13.