i just saw a fb post where a man was arguing with a woman about the best way to make macarons and he kept insisting that she was wrong, and then eventually he was like “I’ve never personally made macarons, but if you think about it what I’m saying makes sense, i’m simply stating the obvious. i’m sure there are plenty of youtube tutorials that would show you the same thing.” and the woman replied by linking him to her instagram business page and she makes fuckin macaron towers for parties for a living and i’ve been laughing about it for a solid 5 minutes.
Men automatically assume they’re more of an expert on something than any woman on account of their dicks. I’ve never met such an ignorant and narcissistic creature as a male
I’ll never forget a time when a fb friend of mine posted that she’s on her way to hospital to give birth. Women commented with “good luck” and other encouraging messages. A man’s comment was advice on how to give birth.
You have got to be kidding me
So I was talking about Jekyll & Hyde (the book) at a writer’s museum while we were looking at an Robert Louis Stevenson exhibit. I was giving my take on Jekyll, and my brother tried to counter it. I countered back easily, and then he said “well I’ve never read the book”
My dude………..stop
So I know a dude. His heart is in the right place, but it’s frequently eclipsed by his ego. He has associates degrees in several fields, hands-on knowledge in several more, but no mastery in any of them. Unfortunately, he assumes mastery. It’s not necessarily mansplaining, because he does it to EVERYONE. You know how other guys take this? Usually not well. He argued programming with a guy well on his way to his master’s degree using his own 20+ year old knowledge. It took actual documented evidence to get him to stop.
He doesn’t do that to me so much anymore, he finally figured out that I can be damn good at tuning him out. Which he hates. Therefore it’s so much more effective than arguing with him. Now, he offers “suggestions,” which are occasionally useful.
my father. with everything. occasionally he is useful. he is always on the annoying to aggravating scale.
My dad has taken this to heart and does not try to ever mansplain things to me. However, sometimes he forgets to just ask if I know how to do something and assumes I do and I’m not sure why he thinks I know anything about plumbing but he does???
For those who don’t know and don’t want to click thru to find out: Jonas Salk is the reason we in North America no longer live in terror of polio. He also refused to patent or profit from his vaccine. He also spent the last years of his life researching a vaccine for AIDS, long before that was cool and back when a lot of people were secretly hoping it really would just kill all the gays. So you’re damn right people applauded and gave free upgrades.
Reblogging again because this time I did click through, and because of the times in which we live: Jonas Salk was Jewish, and the child of immigrants.
More schools do this pls saying the pledge every morning is the most dystopian shit ever
No one forces you to do it lmao
^^^^^^
Lmaoo it’s literally unconstitutional to require kids to stand for the pledge. I don’t for multiple reasons and not only can no one can make me, but no one has even tried, besides just curiously asking me why. Like fuck no ones forcing you lol
“No ones forcing you you’ll just be in an incredibly awkward position, socially ostracized, and threatened by staff :/// no one’s holding a gun to your head though so it’s ok !!!!!!”
Shut up dumbasses
I mean, it’s nice you went to schools where they didn’t force you? ‘Cause… they’re forcing my son.
Literally. Every day. Threatening him, guilt-tripping him, trying to bribe him or shame him. I have been down to his school to talk to the administration multiple times over this. And EVERY SINGLE TIME I bring them the supreme court ruling on my phone and I remind them he has a constitutional right to NOT participate.
It never matters. They say “Oh, well, then he should just sit quietly” and I say THAT’S WHAT HE WAS DOING, and they say “Okay then.” And the next day he comes home and says, “Mom, today one of the teachers told me her son is in the army and I’m insulting her son by not standing for the pledge.”
This is an eleven-year-old they’re talking to this way. And he was the one who made this choice. He said he sees too much inequality in the world, and too many people in America are treated as sub-human, for him to want to chant ‘liberty and justice for all’ like it’s already happened. I didn’t make the decision for him. He said, “Do I HAVE to participate? Because I don’t think it’s right” and I said I’d support him whatever his decision was. And we’ve been fighting this guerrilla war with the administration ever since.
Just because something didn’t happen to you, specifically, doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. How about you stop acting like your experiences are universal, all three of you up there.
THAAAAAAAAAAAAANK YOUUUUUUUUUU.
“lol you don’t have to participate” the fact that the practice specifically targets schoolchildren who are too young to know what they’re saying, regardless of whether the participation is voluntary or not (and it’s often not), is still pretty dystopian. They’re too young to pledge anything else by legal standards, we know that, and we’re taking advantage of it to make them swear loyalty oaths before they’re old enough to understand.
Even if you aren’t asexual or aromantic, it’s okay to not want a relationship. Sex and romance are complicated, even moreso if you have dysphoria, trauma, or other factors making it harder. It’s okay to enjoy friendships and be with yourself without a relationship.
People who prefer hot weather: Snow and ice are a pain, and the cold is just kind of uncomfortable even when you wrap up, you know?
People who prefer cold weather: MY SKIN LITERALLY MELTS OFF EVERY SUMMER I AM A FUCKING HUMAN SOUP AS WE SPEAK
you wouldn’t believe how many people reblogged this to whine about hot weather in the tags.
too cold? put on another layer!
too hot? change into thinner clothes!
still too cold? put on another layer!
still too hot? uh, get naked I guess?
still too cold? put on another layer!
still too hot? Ţ̡̜̮̗̟̯͘ͅA̛͈͎̤͙̳̦̱̜̺̪K̢̻̥̥̥̪̙̜̩̗̼̤̻̻͖͍̜͈͉͠ͅE̟͕̩͔̪͓͔̥̦͇̣͇̳͕͉͜ͅ ̠̝̥̖̭̦̼́͝O̩̦͓̠͉̲̲̱̪̹̻̼̭̯͎͈̕͢F̷̸̢̛̙͇͔̜̙̮̗̲̤͇̯͡F̧̨̱̤̲̫͕͔̼̭͙̠̙͙̹̻ͅ ҉̫̠͓̙̠͔̕͜͠Y͡҉̴̘̭̬̳́O̶̶̧͚̞̣̯̩̫̜̩͉̤͎͖̖͟ͅU̶̵̺̠̪̘̱̮̮̙̻͈̣̦̭͠͝͞R̨҉̦̺͓̩̺͖̘̪̥̺͚̱͚͔̪͓̖̰ ̷̸̺͇̳͇̖̥̻̳͚̗̥͙̪̣́S̡̞̳͖̭̯͉̻̠͔̥̹̫̣̼̹͇͜K͏̧͍̪̗̖̜̫̙̱̫͈̟̝̮͈̻̺̯̟̠̀Į̧̙͙͔̠͖̟̕͝Ǹ͖͎̳͍̪̱̞͇̺̘̩͘͜͠
The cold is easily shut out, the heat is inescapable hell
THE TRUTH COMES OUT.
Avoidance techniques for the cold:
-more coats, fire, hot food and drink, stay inside, fuzzy sweaters, ear muffs, become a burrito
“if you want to adopt kids at an older age, that’s just lazy and you’ll miss the important developmental years. you won’t be able to connect.” okay but consider this:
1. I will not be able to handle a baby, but I will definitely be able to manage and guide an older child
2. no diapers. hallelujah
3. As a foster child gets older, their chance of adoption plummets. Adopting an older child gives a late break to someone who would have otherwise had to age out of the system
4. my plans for adoption are none of your concern
Holy shit people actually say that? Inviting a kid in need to be part of your family is ‘lazy’?
Being there for the ‘developmental years’ is so important not having it is a dealbreaker?
‘You won’t be able to connect’ with another human being unless you’re there for their formative years, imprinting on them?
…people who make that argument should probably do a LOT of soulsearching before they consider getting a toy baby adopting a younger child.
I had a sociology professor once and both he and his wife were registered social workers (in addition to him teaching), and after a couple of years married, they started talking about adopting a child. They’d seen the system up close, they knew how hard it was for some kids to get adopted. So when they sat down to start the fostering process, they told the agency to give them their toughest, most difficult case. If anyone could handle a kid who’d been labeled a “problem child”, it was these two people.
The agency paired them up with a 12 year old girl – the oldest they had, far, far too old to be considered for adoption typically. This girl’s birth parents had had drug problems, she’d been in and out of a couple dozen foster homes, no one able to handle her, she ran away frequently and had diagnosed behavioral problems, she was surly and defiant. When she first met them, she was clammed up tight, snarky, unwilling to trust them or anyone – and really, who could blame her?
But these two adults poured every bit of their compassion and training into this one child, into getting to know her, earning her trust by listening to her and treating her like a person who mattered. And slowly, slowly, she came around. Slowly, they built a relationship with her, and she came out of her shell. It wasn’t always smooth sailing, but having these two adults who were utterly unwilling to give up on her, or see her as the problem, let them work through each issue as it arose, and slowly they started to see this other side of her personality emerge. She joked around, she grinned often, she got excited about sports games and yelled at the tv with her foster father, she was making friends at her new school and doing better in her studies.
One day they sat her down and told her they loved her and they wanted her to legally, officially be part of their family. But they thought she deserved a say, too. If she just wanted to be fostered for the next five, six years, they could do that too. But they wanted to adopt her, they wanted to keep her for always. Did she want them? Yes, she said. Yes, I want to keep you, too.
My professor came into class one day with a grin that just would not go away, bouncing on his toes. We all wanted to know what was up. The adoption was finalized today, he told us. Today I have a daughter! And he showed us pictures of his brand new 12 year old daughter hugged between he and his wife, the three of them grinning at the camera. I’ve been her dad for awhile, he told us, but today it’s official, today we’re finally really a family.
I heard that story in the spring of 2001, when I was 20. This girl just 8 years younger than me, the age of my younger siblings, this girl who everyone had given up on. But these two people, they knew they had enough love and training to handle whatever was thrown their way, these people stayed true to the commitment of being parents, didn’t give up when the going got tough, proved slowly and methodically that they loved her, that she could trust them.
That girl must be in her late 20s now. She’s had parents for more than a decade and a half. She hasn’t had to face this scary century alone. She has parents who went with her to her freshman orientation for college, I’m certain of it. If she’s gotten married, I know her father walked her down the aisle, that same grin splitting his face, the same grin as when he announced that he had a daughter, the same grin he wore every time he talked about her. If she’s had kids, her kids have the best grandparents.
They are a family of choice built on commitment and trust and love. You can’t tell me that isn’t bonding, you cannot tell me that it’s lazy, that that was somehow easier or less worthwhile than diapers.
Ive always been pro adoption ever since I was a child in school and one of my best friends had been adopted. I’ve always wondered why someone would make another human being on this overpopulated earth when there’s plenty of humans without families that desperately need help.