reddieforstenbrough:

moodstoned:

lah-disputes:

I decided to create a masterpost that would help you with what you are struggling with. Hopefully any of the links below will help you!

Reminder; You’re going to be okay. What you are going through will pass, just remember to breathe. 

————————————————————————————-

Distractions;

Here are some distractions to help keep your mind occupied so you aren’t too focused on your thoughts. 

Sleep issues; 

 

Uncomfortable with silence; 

Anxiety; 

Sad, angry and depressed/depression; 

Isolation and loneliness; 

 

Self-harm;

Addiction; 

 

Eating disorders; 

 

Dealing with self-hatred;  

 

Suicidal; 

 

Schizophrenia;

OCD;

Borderline personality disorder; 

Abuse; 

 

Bullying;

 

Loss and grief; 

(Other loss and grief)

 

Getting help; 

Things you need to remember; 

  • – Don’t stress about being fixed because you’re not broken.
  • -Remember to remind yourself of your accomplishments. Tell yourself that you’re proud of yourself, even if you’re not. 
  • – This is temporary. You won’t always feel like this. 
  • -You are not alone. 
  • -You are enough. 
  • -You are important. 
  • -You are worth it. 
  • -You are strong. 
  • -You are not a failure, 
  • -Good people exist. 
  • -Reaching out shows strength. 
  • -Breathe. 
  • -Don’t listen to the thoughts that are not helping you. 
  • -Give yourself credit. 
  • -Don’t be ashamed of your emotions, for the good or bad ones. 
  • -Treat yourself the same way as you would treat a good friend. 
  • -Focus on the things you can change. 
  • -Let go of toxic people. 
  • -You don’t need to hide, you’re allowed to feel the way you do. 
  • -Try not to beat yourself up. 
  • -Something is always happening, you don’t want to miss out on what’s going to happen next. 
  • -You are not a bother.
  • -Your existence is more than your appearance. 
  • -You are smart. 
  • -You are loved. 
  • -You are wanted. 
  • -You are needed. 
  • -Better days are coming. 
  • -Just because your past is dark, doesn’t mean your future isn’t bright. 
  • -You have more potential than you think. 
  • – Your value doesn’t decrease based on someone’s inability to see your worth.


Please remember to look after yourself and know that you are more than worth it and you deserve to be happy. Keep smiling butterflies x

thanks bud

You all need this

jenroses:

audioerf:

airyairyquitecontrary:

restoringsanity:

shipwhateveryouwant:

educating-antis:

much-ado-about-mothing:

yoyo-inspace:

shalamaladingdong:

“why is saying ‘i hate pedophilia’ a controversial opinion on this site?”

i’ll tell you, it’s because you fuckers literally call relationships between two adults with an age gap pedophilia

#stop abusing serious terms until they lose all meaning ffs

things I have seen called pedophilia on this hellsite with my own two eyes

– a relationship between two adults with the youngest being 25

– a high school senior dating a high school junior

– a college senior being sexually interested in a college freshman

– size difference fetish art featuring two adult characters

– consenting adults engaging in kink with other consenting adults

– writing about 2 teenagers of similar ages having sex

– shipping characters with vaguely defined ages who are treated as adults in canon

telling kids that asexuality exists

– sex education

like, I shouldn’t have to ask myself if the person being accused of pedophilia is an actual child molester or if they reblog shippy vo|tron fanart

Antis: Why do people hate us for not liking pedophilia :////

Also Antis: *call out everything under the sun that isn’t pedophilia as pedophilia and then wonder why the fuck nobody takes pedophilia claims seriously anymore*

👆👆👆👆👆

I wrote this post on September 4th, 2017. It only took a month. (From that point on.)

False callout posts get hundreds if not thousands of notes (albeit at least half of them confused or rejecting the accusations), while posts trying to draw attention to individuals that might pose actual danger go ignored.

There’s something demonstrably harmful to minors and adults alike, especially to victims/survivors – it’s how much of a rhetorical nightmare shipping discourse is, and how much it actually desensitizes people to the subjects in question. You do not want people to become callous and dismissive, but the individuals continuously fabricating accusations, watering down definitions, making completely outrageous claims, and concentrating their opportunistic activism on ‘problematic content’ do everything possible to erode the patience, understanding, sympathy and empathy of the people around them.

Please, please stop trying to sell your ship wars as literally anything else. You’re doing more damage than any piece of fiction possibly could. This is how you are affecting reality, and the effect your actions have is unquestionably bad.

You have to start taking these subjects seriously again. You absolutely have to. When you’re not using certain terms correctly, you’re not respecting their meaning, and you don’t take what they stand for seriously enough, because in your mind the definition can be changed or applied to different things.

Shipping that deals with entirely fictional characters is inconsequential and amoral in every possible instance. This applies to drawn and written works, as well. Fictional characters aren’t real people. Real people law doesn’t apply to them. You need to understand this.

Here’s an example:
Shipping entirely fictional characters -> creates no discomfort for the characters involved, because they are not real; the effect it has on you as a person is your responsibility

Creating/consuming explicit/mature content of entirely fictional characters -> creates no discomfort for the characters involved, because they are not real; the effect it has on you as a person is your responsibility

I’m talking about entirely fictional characters. This excludes the shipping of real people – actual living and breathing human people. Not historical figures. People that are alive today. A person. (We still know what a person is, right?) The shipping of real people is a different subject entirely, and it should be approached differently. Still not a crime. Just different.

The bottom line is:
Stop treating fictional characters like real people.
Stop implying that shipping ‘matters’.
Stop involving serious subjects to give your anti-ship arguments more weight and meaning. It’s just a ship. Calm down.
Stop claiming that fiction has a direct, constant, measurable effect on reality. (It has an effect, but not like you think it does.)
Stop saying “This is abuse/incest/pedophilia/etc” when you really want to say “I don’t like it”.

hey so I have to hear about actual cases of child sexual abuse pretty often in my work and it tears at my heart and accusations of paedophilia over depictions of fictional characters infuriate me, especially if people take them so far that they waste law enforcement time and resources that could have been spent investigating actual crimes in which a real live human child was harmed.

False callout posts get hundreds if not thousands of notes (albeit at least half of them confused or rejecting the accusations), while posts trying to draw attention to individuals that might pose actual danger go ignored.

I’ve seen survivors writing and being told they “write like pedophiles” and be retraumatized by antis a hell of a lot more often than I’ve seen fictional ships actually hurt people.

Blacklist exists. Block your triggers. Block your squicks. Save your pitchforks for actual abusers and people who actually hurt children. There are plenty of valid targets out there. Save your high horse for the places you can actually do some good. 

There are a ton of genres I don’t read, lots of tags I just skip. It’s okay to curate your own media consumption. You don’t have to finish everything you start.

I have literally walked away from fics that hit my squick spot two chapters in within the last 24 hours. 

Things more important than family

sassymurderousangel:

lovemesomecass94:

kestrelsparverius:

abused-daughter:

kimberly-wants-to-hide:

I nearly drowned when I was 3. My mom had to jump into the pool fully clothed to rescue me. 44 years later, she still complains that I made her ruin her Mickey Mouse watch.

My mom broke my arm when I was 6. She tells a funny story about it. She doesn’t tell the part about when she came to me immediately afterward and complained impatiently, “Stop crying! It doesn’t hurt that bad.”

When I was in my 30′s, a doctor committed malpractice in his treatment of me, resulting in me permanently having less than 50% kidney function. Every single time I mentioned the kidney disease to my mother—panicking about what this would mean for the rest of my life, explicitly asking her for comfort and reassurance—she told me that it was my own fault for trusting the doctor instead of researching everything on my own.

Some people will tell you that nothing is more important than family.

I’m here to tell you that love is more important than family. Loving yourself is more important than family. Finding other people who offer you unconditional love is more important than family.

If your family causes you pain, then there are a hell of a lot of things more important than family.

YOU are more important than family. Always remember that. Always.

This is for all the people who hear “but they’re your faaammmmillyy! You have to love them :)”

No you don’t. Family does not always have to come first, especially if they’re harmful to you

YOU DO NOT HAVE TO LOVE AN ABUSIVE FAMILY MEMBER

THIS. I suffered depression from an early age and all i ever got was “Stop being so ungrateful. You have a home and clothes and food.” I hate every member of my blood family. Love the people who love you! Those that love you, THEY’RE your family.

Reblogging because that addition is so honest and so important

Men: Your Consent Matters Too

blackirisposts:

theshellcollecter:

caleb-michelson:

bone-and-brawn:

Fellas, listen.

You don’t have to do anything sexual that you’re not interested in. Moreover, you don’t have to explain why. “No” is a complete sentence.

Not interested in getting pegged? You don’t have to.
Monogamous and not into the idea of another partner? Okay.
Not sure about period sex? Cool.

And if your partner decides to question or mock your maturity or your masculinity or your sexuality because you say no? It’s time to re-evaluate the relationship. See if you don’t deserve better than that.

Boost

BOOST MORE!!!

THIS TOO!

hendratds:

shows-up-naked-covered-in-bees:

holmestiel-love:

moonstonesword23700:

kago-make-dean-some-pie:

emilytillman:

nut3llawbu:

thordoftherings:

the-angry-silent-apple:

winchesterandwinchester:

Supernatural – Light ‘Em Up

For how short this it, it took a ridiculously long time to make, but oh well. It’s pretty good, in my opinion. Please enjoy!

Youtube

OMG I CAN’T STOP REBLOGGING THIS
AND I’M NOT EVEN IN THIS FANDOM

holY SHIT THIS IS BADASS

PETITION FOR THIS TO BE THE ACTUAL FUCKING AD VIDEO FOR SUPERNATURAL BECAUSE G O D D A M N MAN

Because of this I am now going to start watching the show omfg. GOD BLESS YOU

HOLY JUNK THIS IS PERFECT

i JUST FREAKING WATCHED THIS 4 TIMES IN A ROW AND I’M NOT EVEN DONE I’M GONG TO WATCH IT SO MANY MORE TIMES!! I CAN’T EVEN DESCRIBE I GET CHILLS EVERY TIME I WATCH THIS!!

Always reblog holy crap
SERIOUSLY THOUGH THIS NEEDS TO BE AN ADD FOR SUPERNATURAL OMG

THE BEST SUPERNATURAL VID YET

MAKE IT AN ADVERT

THIS IS SO COOL

OOOOOOOOOOOOOH

@square-stingray

Why I stand with Planned Parenthood

carafem:

sweaterkittensahoy:

Multiple gynos refused me an IUD because  “oh, it hurts so much to put in when you’ve had kids! We don’t want to put you in pain!!”

I was at a 7-9 on the pain scale regularly for my periods, and the docs were determined to make me run the gauntlet.

“But what about the pill?”

“Symptom-swap.”

“Have you thought about depo?”

“Mood drop.”

“And the patch?”

“Family history of breaking out in rashes.”

“Well, what about the nuva ring?”

“How will that NOT give me the same symptom-swap issues?”

“…”

“Look, I’m in pain so bad I wake up in the middle of the night. I’m in pain so bad I didn’t know I had appendecitis. I need SOMETHING.”

“Have you tried an ibuprofen protocol?”

“YES.”

“There are yoga poses that help with cramping.”

“I can’t uncurl from the ball of pain I’m in. How the hell am I supposed to hold position?”

“Well, how much caffeine do you drink? That could be a factor.”

“I have three cups of coffee a day and drink lots of water.”

And so on.

Then, one day, I made an appointment and went to Planned Parenthood.

“Yeah. Hi. I have incredibly painful periods that are fucking crippling me, and I need an IUD.”

“Okay. Do you have a chart of your periods I can look at?”

“Yup.”

“Okay. Looks like you have regular, heavy periods where the pain is worsening. Is that right?”

“Yup. And the fatigue. And the mood swings. And all of it.”

“Fatigue and mood swings, too?”

“Yup.”

“…is there any history of endometriosis in your family?”

“Yup. I’ve never been diagnosed, though. They say it takes a biopsy.”

“The biopsy can confirm tissue, but if you don’t have excess tissue, it doesn’t really help. You can have endo without excess tissue.”

“Okay. So, what are my options?”

“I suggest Mirena. Paraguard can make period symptoms worse even though it’s got no hormones while Mirena has a low-dose hormone that should help with all your pain and other issues. Here’s all the info on both of them. Here are models of both of them. Why don’t you take everything with you, read through it, then call if you have any questions? We can go ahead and schedule for insertion before you leave, and you can just call and say which type you want after you’ve read up. Is that okay?”

“…Yeah. That’s. That’s fine.”

“Do you have any questions right now?”

“Um, I got told a bunch I shouldn’t get an IUD because the insertion will hurt too much because I haven’t had kids.”

“Looking at the pain you’re usually in, I think you can handle it. It will definitely hurt, but it should only last about twenty seconds.”

“Twenty seconds?”

“Yes.”

“I’ve been refused the best option for dealing with my symptoms because of TWENTY SECONDS?!”

“Sadly, we hear that a lot.”

Planned Parenthood treated me like a PERSON who was in pain, not a walking uterus bitching and moaning about womanly things. Planned Parenthood showed me respect and kindness and respected the knowledge I brought of my own medical history to the conversation. Planned Parenthood respected my autonomy where other doctors rarely had and paid attention when I explained why I felt the IUD was the best choice. Planned Parenthood showed me I mattered, and I want to show how much they matter to me.

^ the difference between a person’s symptoms being diminished versus believed.

cyclone-light:

chongoblog:

randomcartoonbro:

strangesigils:

I don’t really know what people generally call this method of sigil making, so I’m just calling it “Letter Shaping” because you’re using the basic shapes from certain letters.
This is the most common form of sigil making, and it allows the most creative influence. As you see above the sigils are for nearly the same thing, yet the sigils came out completely different. Not because the purpose was different, but because I approached them both a different creative way, and that’s what I like so much about this method. There’s a lot of freedom and personalization involved.

(UPDATE: Here’s a link to a guide on how to deconstruct letters down to basic shapes)

@egyptian-pearl-witch

I am going to break you into four pieces like a fucking kit kat

How to Grow the Fuck Up: Guides to Life

square-stingray:

howtogrowthefuckup:

I know it can be a nightmare to dig through the tags and see all those asks and not the guides. So here is a handy-dandy list of all the “official” how-to posts.

FYI: This used to be a rude advice blog. It is not any longer. Some of the really old guides still use that format, but as they are updated with more information, they’re edited to fit the new, less abrasive format. For more info, please visit the about page.

All posts are written by Jez (@typesetjez, formerly called “The Responsible One”) unless otherwise noted.

Apartments/Houses/Moving

Civic Duty

Consumer Information

Education

Finances

Health

Home Life & Cleaning

Important Documents

Job Hunting & Work Life

Life Skills

Miscellaneous

Relationships

Self Care, Beauty, & Fashion

Travel & Vehicles

Other Blog Features

If you don’t see what you’re looking for, go ahead and ask. But first, check the List of Things I Cannot/Will Not Answer.

Like what you see? Please consider supporting HTGTFU on Patreon, through a PayPal donation, or with any of these other methods.

[Note: This post will be updated as new guides are written, please click here to see the full, updated post.]

Guys, we found the info tab on Life’s game menu

ohdebt:

magicgoldenflowerprincess:

I’ve read tons of posts about dress codes in US schools. Recently I even read an article about a girl who was sent home for having a top without sleeves. It’s so weird that our online magazines have started to cover it. And all of this seems like a dystopia to me.

Here’s a thing: Finnish schools do NOT have any dress codes. Like, at all. Nothing. As long as you have all legally demanded parts covered. Also, teachers might sent home a note if they notice a young child not wearing a hat or a jacket in winter (it’s FREEZING but hats are not cool yo).

I attended this elite high school (no, not EXPENSIVE, education is free in Finland, elite as in nerds and good teachers). All kids in there had the best grades of our entire country. It’s also a very old, traditional school that has produced many artists, politicians etc. for us (Finland is a small village but compared to that, those people are great). And what did I wear to this fancy school?

Leather skirts, so short everyone saw my garters. Skin thight red tops so open that you could see the color of my bra. Fishnet stay-up socks. Leather boots with stiletto heels. And I also sat on my desk most of the time, so all boys behind me could clearly see all the glory of my high-heeled legs. I admit, I was bit of a goth kid then.

Guess what? Everyone passed the classes. I did not cause all the boys in our year to fail. Actually, they got used to it so quick nobody even noticed my clothes. And nowadays I attend a respectable office job where I dress in a modest (altough personal) way. Because in Finland we let kids be kids. I had plenty of time to learn professional dress code after I’d had my fun.

TLDR; Dress codes for kids are weird and unnecessary and not having them will not make the world burn.

Honestly though? I live in America and went to a poor public school whose dress code was more akin to a uniform (it was sexist as all hell too, as dress codes usually are).

When we got a new principal, he got SO SICK of teachers sending kids to the office for something as stupid as not having a belt (news flash, some of us are poor, we couldn’t afford all those new clothes AND a belt), so he pushed and pushed to get a more relaxed code. And it finally happened.

And you know what the kids all finally fucking did? We either dressed like we would ANY OTHER DAY OF THE WEEK, or fucking sweatpants and t-shirts because it was high school and we were tired and wanted to go home and crawl in bed.

They were SO SCARED that people would come to school in stripper clothes and t-shirts with cuss words on them, but the minute we were given that opportunity? We DIDN’T take it. They completely didn’t know how we would react to this change, but for DECADES they just assumed the reaction would be “”“"bad”“”“.

Also I think it became clear that the dress code was being used by a lot of teachers to underhandedly abuse students they didn’t particularly like.

Anyways tldr: dress codes are stupid and sexist and also wildly underestimate a child’s ability to differentiate between right and wrong, and also THE WORLD DIDN’T FALL APART WHEN IT WAS FINALLY LAXED.